Education

Plans change, accept it.

This time, last year, I had a whole different plan for myself. I wanted to do either Astrophysics or Aeronautical engineering at Imperial College London.

But none of that is happening.

Back then I wasn’t aware of the scholarship or the student loan course lists, so I just.. planned! I did my research on the courses stated and fell in love with them but due to a few lot changes on the course list I had to do research on other courses ( they used to have aeronautical engineering on the course list yearS ago, just like what I said, I wasn’t aware of it last year). Then there was the ‘new’ course list meant for last year’s batch, I thought it was meant for this year too and the only course that sparked my interest was Avionics. I was SO close to applying for it through UCAS BUT they changed the list again.. *SIGH*

On the NEW course list, the only thing that caught me was Automotive engineering. I did my research on it and a few other engineering courses including Electrical & Electronic engineering (EEE). I decided to apply for those courses since one is available in the scholarship list and the other is available in the student loan list. I wanted to be safe. Originally, I wanted to get into Imperial College London (so much) to do EEE (I couldn’t apply for Automotive Engineering there because they don’t have that course) but I was too late, application for the top universities closes on the 15th of January every year and that time it was already the 11th. I ended up finishing the whole UCAS process on the 23rd.

*Side note: I mentioned that I applied for two courses at the same time, right? To do so, I had to make my Personal Statement to be very general (but it was more towards electrical) still, they accepted me for Automotive Eng.*

Okay and then the waiting game began. While doing so, I had a hard time practising for the upcoming interviewing because well, I don’t know a single thing about Automotive Engineering. I applied for it just because it was listed. By this time I was offered by Leeds(for Automotive), Sheffield, Nottingham & Southampton (for EEE). After doing more research on both of the courses, I realized that I was more interested in EEE than Automotive (I don’t even like mechanical). At this stage, I decided to just do EEE and it was pretty hard for me to tell my dad that I was going to give up on Automotive because he really wanted me to get the scholarship instead of the student loan. In the end, he had to give in too because it was my choice and I’m the one who’s gonna sit for the exams.

Then, I withdrew my application for Warwick (for Automotive) because well, there was no point of me waiting to be accepted (I thought) but my dad said I could’ve just changed my course to EEE. *facepalm* TOO LATE!

In all the 4 universities that offered me, I was more interested to go to Sheffield and so I accepted their offer.

then the interview process went on (I wrote about this).

Last Thursday (17/8) I got called to get my letter of approval. (AAAAHHHHHHHHHH)

Alhamdulillah.

IM GOING TO SHEFFIELD!!!!!

Sadly, I have to go there alone (which makes my dad super worried) but I am actually excited and I’m sure I’ll manage (as long as I have the money too bring myself from one place to the other). So right now I’m in the middle of VISA application (which is very last minute) and filling up a few more forms.

From, Astrophysics/Aeronautical Engineering @ ICL to doing EEE @ Sheffield.. who knew? God did… There’s good a reason why He put me in this path so I’ll just trust Him..

Leave a comment